FIND ME

Remember our college freshman and his little cousin? This story is Part II to Cowboys and Indians.

Okay then. Freshie had a down time from school as exams were nearing. He already finished most of his written assignments and had already prepared for his orals.

Needless to say, our freshie was bored and had nothing else to do. So he started fixing up his room. As he did this, his young cousin came into his bedroom, without any invitation, as usual.

Lille Boy: “I’m bored. There’s nothing new on TV.
Freshie: “Don’t you have video games?”
Little Boy: “Mom hid them ’cause I didn’t do my homework the other day. What you doing, anyhow?”
Freshie:”I’m just fixing up.
Little Boy: “Yeesh. Maybe you could do my room too.”
Freshie: “Ha ha. That will be the day. Why don’t you do it yourself?”
Little Boy: “Why don’t I what?”
Freshie: “Fix up your room?”
Little Boy: “See, if I did that mom’s not going to do anything this weekend and we won’t have anything to fight about.”
Freshie: “Wow. I didn’t realize that’s a game you and Auntie are playing. Anyway, since you’re bored and I don’t have anything to do today, why don”t we play my game. It’s called Find Me.”
Little Boy: “Okay. Is that some kind of a ball game?”
Freshie: “Nope. It’s like an alphabet game.”
Little Boy: “Oh, I don’t want that. Sounds like it’s for babies.”
Freshie: “Heck no! We play that in our group dynamics class.”
Little Boy: “You still play in your school? What are you? Aren’t you supposed to be in college already?”
Freshie:”Hey, hey, hey, even college students have play time too.”
Little Boy: “Really?”
Freshie: “Yes, depends on what subject you have, though.”
Little Boy: “Whatever. So tell me how you play this Find Me.”
Freshie: “Sure?”
Little Boy: “Yes, sounds lame, but okay. Better than just sitting around watching you.”
Freshie: “Ha ha. My, you really are bored.” Our freshie was now thinking that at last he could score one after being tied up by his little cousin. “This is how it works … first letter in the alphabet is?”
Little Boy: “Are we playing the game now?” Interrupted the little boy.
Freshie: “Not until you answer my question.”
Little Boy: “Everybody knows it’s the letter A.” answered the little boy bored to his wits.
Freshie: “Very good! I see you know your alphabet.” Okay, this is how it works. ‘ll be giving you some clues about something that starts with the letter A, and then you find that something.”
Little Boy: “Okay. Seems easy enough.

Freshie:” Alright then. I’ll start. You don’t mind now do you?”
Little Boy: “Well, you should start since you called the game. Shoot.” Said the little boy shrugging his shoulders.
Freshie: “Let’s practice first so I would know if you understood the game.” His little cousin nodded and looked at the clock on the wall near the bedroom window.
Freshie: “I”m thinking of something in the kitchen, that’s a protection from oil spattering when frying. Now you go find it.”
Little Boy: “But I don’t even know what that is.”
Freshie: “There are two clues in there. How much more do you need? One, it’s in the kitchen and two, it’s a protection for cooking.”
Little Boy: “Yeah, but you said something else. You said spatring or whatever that word is. It’s a big word.”

Freshie: “Well, at least you’re learning new words.”
Little Boy: “That’s not fair! I’m just a kid. I don’t know any big words yet! I don’t like to play your game anymore. I’ll just watch those crime shows on TV.” Said the little boy and stormed out of his room.
Freshie: “Hey, okay. Sorry kid.” Was all that our freshie said and happened to look at the clock. It’s 11:00 am and Thomas and Friends are on at this time. Our freshie thought, my, my, did my young cousin had one up on me again?

Leave a comment